Millernton – Who is this actually?

We are the MillernTon. We’re podcasting and blogging about everything of our concern about the FCSP and this by guess and by gosh. The MillernTon consists of three departments:

  • The Monthly Show: In this podcast, we invite individuals or groups somehow related to the FCSP and put them at the acid test within 90 minutes (roughly) and almost regularly every month.
  • VdS/NdS-Talks: While the monthly show is only occasionally dealing with the daily business of the club, the pre- and post-match talks aim to talk to supporters of the respective opponents.
  • MillernTon-Blog: In the blog, different editors report about football and other aspects of interest. Their points of view are of course of brilliant subjectivity. Additionally, many blog posts are also translated into the English language.

If you ever wondered, who is actually speaking into your ears or who drafted the texts you are reading, just keep on reading:

  • Arne (Blog translations) born in Hamburg, started to support the FC St. Pauli since the early 90’s (seasonal ticket 1992/93!); whenever he is at the Millerntor, the Gegengerade is his preferred stand of choice. However, his way of life forces him to show his club appreciation remotely. After living in Australia and Austria, he’s currently residing in Liverpool from where he is translating the blog posts into the English language. His favourite player is Flo Carstens, as this lad used to play for the same club in his youth, in which Arne also used to play handball, table tennis and badminton. However, this all happened long before Flo Carstens was born…
  • Debbie (Monthly Show) Debbie’s life is dominated by the FC St. Pauli. In 1996, she fell in love with the club of the quarter, from which she origins. Since 2002, she’s hardly missing any matches. Debbie loves to support the club from the South Stand. She also used to play football herself, of course for St. Pauli and with the number 14, which is now occupied by Mats Møller Dæhli. These days, you can meet her behind the bar or the DJ’s console of the Jolly Roger. And additionally, Debbie also has scored grounds in 19 different countries. Imitate that for once.
  • Flippa (Blog)  was able to successfully resist several missionary attempts of his HSV-granddad before he was magically attracted by punk rock and an underdog existence. He’s consistently aiming for positive support from the Gegengerade and already blogged for the Nice Guys Sankt Pauli and wrote articles for the ÜBERSTEIGER. He’s an expert for the sections of “Funny Drinking Stories “ as well as “Bad Puns Newly Told“.
  • Flo (Blog translations) is studying something related to computers and works for a software development company in Hamburg. When he heard about the automated translations feature of the MillernTon blog, he thought “you are better in doing that” and has started to translate swear words since. After his first visit at the Millerntor (a 3:0 against the second team of Hertha BSC Berlin), he got the advice “Do not get used to it, it’s usually not like that!“. After two promotions and one relegation, he was able to secure himself a season package for the Gegengerade and is hardly missing a home match since.
  • Johnny (Monthly Show) He is the beer-drinking fashion conscience of the monthly show. Standing in the Gegengerade. He thought for a long time that football is boring (and is still thinking the same every now and then). His brother once took him to the Millerntor for the first time. While he cannot remember against whom, he still remembers every single chant. For him, the “other stuff” is as important as what is happening on the pitch. And he has more knowledge about music than Tim. // Maybe, that’s a lie. Professionally, Johnny is busy with technics, innovations and ideas. In his leisure time, he is passionate about homebrewing and 3D-printing.
  • Justus (Monthly Show) is visiting matches of the FC St Pauli since 1991, the lost match against the Stuttgarter Kickers during the relegation playoffs was the beginning of his St. Pauli-fan-existence. After years of living in exile, he moved to Hamburg in 2008 and started to work for the Fanladen St Pauli. He is a member of the MillernTon from the very beginning, thus, since 1910.
  • Maik (Monthly show & Blog) is blogging “from time immemorial” about the FCSP. When it was not yet officially called blogging, he did the same for “Die feuchten Biber” [The wet beavers] and after that for the ÜBERSTEIGER. Additionally, he fell for making podcasts and attempts to add some sort of structure to the talks of the monthly show, however, sometimes with more and sometimes with less success. Besides that, he is a referee in the club league of Schleswig-Holstein, but also watches his son playing football, additionally, he is collecting some further grounds as a groundhopper.
  • Michael (VdS/NdS Talks) Standing seasonal ticket holder for a seated ticket on the Gegengerade (Pen2) – he holds his seasonal ticket since 1989 and has watched more than 500 matches. Godfather of the VdS/NdS talks, who is also the organiser of the department. Behind the scenes, he is also the MillernTon’s social media manager, particularly for Instagram as he is the only one who is getting the idea of Instagram.
  • Sebastian (Monthly Show & IT-Dude) is part of the MillernTon from its very beginning and as time passed by, he won the lottery for the position behind the recording console (without stopping to participate in the talks) and for the back-end of the website. Professionally, he is doing something with advertisement and numbers, in the stadium, he stands in the Gegengerade, preferably as part of a swearing crowd.
  • Tim (Monthly show & Blog) Somewhere in the huge spaces between Gunesch, Morena and Eger and after the 1910th flat corner, Tim lost his heart to tactics and statistics. While he was previously just swearing cholerically, he now searched for answers in analysing bad positioning play and likelihoods of bad ball receptions. He did this already at the Nice Guys Sankt Pauli and later at the ÜBERSTEIGER. But he is not just talking at the MillernTon, his voice is also somersaulting at the AFM-radio, whenever the FCSP is passing the midfield’s line in a controlled manner.
  • Toby (VdS/NdS Talks) Joined by his entire family, he is an FC St. Pauli fan since the late 90’s, earlier only equipped with a seasonal package, he now holds a seasonal ticket for the Gegengerade. His godchild is there as well and he is also the shirt-sponsor of Matze Hain. He is a family guy! At the MillernTon he is a member of the VdS/NdS talks department and enjoys to get tempted for away matches every now and then. However, he never managed to witness an away-win. He is an intensive podcaster since 2010, with the Einschlafen Podcast, he contributes to relaxation and silence. Find out more about him by clicking here.
  • Yannick (VdS/NdS Talks) had to take the detour via the punk- and hardcore-scene to the FCSP. He was born in the Bergisches Land and used to live in Berlin where he received his training as an educator. That’s exactly where the FC St. Pauli found him. He is a club member (AFM) for 6 years now and did his first steps as a podcaster in 2014. Since May 2017, he lives in Hamburg and hardly missed a home match since then. Beside the professional’s squad, he also supports the women’s team of the FCSP and is a member of the Fanclub „Die üblichen Verdächtigen“ [“The usual suspects”], which is one of the two fan-clubs of the first women’s team of the FC St. Pauli.

If you like what we’re doing here, you can find more information about how and whether you should support us here.

Der MillernTon – Wer ist das eigentlich?

Wir sind der MillernTon. Wir podcasten & bloggen zu allem was uns beim FCSP bewegt und so wie uns der Schnabel gewachsen ist. Der MillernTon umfasst drei verschiedene Formate:

  • Monatssendung: In dieses Podcast-Format werden in mehr oder weniger monatlichem Abstand in mehr oder weniger 90 Minuten Länge (meist mehr) Personen und Gruppen aus dem FCSP-Umfeld eingeladen und auf Herz und Nieren untersucht.
  • VdS/NdS-Gespräche: Während sich die Monatssendung eher weniger mit den tagesaktuellen Themen befasst, werden bei den „Vor dem Spiel“ und „Nach dem Spiel“-Gesprächen Unterhaltungen mit Fans der gegnerischen Teams geführt.
  • MillernTon-Blog: Im Blog lassen sich verschiedene Autoren zum Fußball und anderen Themen aus. Sichtweisen hierbei immer schön subjektiv. Zusätzlich werden viele Blog-Beiträge auch ins Englische übersetzt.

Falls ihr Euch fragt, wer genau Euch eigentlich gerade die Ohren vollsabbelt oder die von Euch gelesenen Zeilen verfasst hat, dann schaut mal hier:

  • Arne (Übersetzungen Blog) Gebürtiger Hamburger, supportet den FC St. Pauli bereits seit den frühen 90er Jahren (Dauerkarte 1992/93!); wenn im Stadion, dann am Liebsten von der Gegengerade. Sein Lebenswandel zwingt ihn jedoch dazu, seine Liebe zum Verein aus der Ferne auszuleben. Nach Stationen in Australien und Österreich lebt er derzeit in Liverpool, von wo er die Blogtexte für den MillernTon ins Englische übersetzt. Sein Lieblingsspieler ist Flo Carstens, weil der in seiner Jugend für einen Verein gespielt hat, für den auch Arne Handball, Tischtennis und Badminton spielte, allerdings lange bevor Flo Carstens geboren wurde…
  • Debbie (Monatssendung) Debbies Leben bestimmt der FC St. Pauli. 1996 verliebte sie sich in den Verein aus dem Viertel aus dem sie auch stammt. Seit 2002 verpasst sie nur noch eine spärliche Anzahl an Spielen. Debbie steht in der Süd und liebt es zu supporten. Selber Fußball gespielt hat sie auch, natürlich bei St. Pauli und mit der Nummer 14, die jetzt Mats Møller Dæhli trägt. Heutzutage trifft man sie sportlich eher hinter dem Tresen oder dem DJ-Pult des Jolly Roger an. Ganz nebenbei hat sie beachtliche 19 Länderpunkte. Macht das mal nach.
  • Flippa (Blog) Trotzte in jungen Jahren den Versuchen von seinem HSV-Opa und ließ sich magisch anziehen von Punkrock und Underdog-Dasein. Immer um positiven Support auf der Gegengerade bemüht, bloggte er einige Zeit für die Nice Guys Sankt Pauli und schrieb für den ÜBERSTEIGER. Experte der Rubriken „Heitere Suffgeschichten“ und „Schlechte Gags neu erzählt“.
  • Flo (Übersetzungen Blog) Studiert irgendwas mit Computern und arbeitet bei einem Hamburger Software-Hersteller. Als er von der automatischen Übersetzung im MillernTon Blog hörte, dachte er sich „Das kannst du besser!“ und übersetzt seitdem Schimpfwörter ins Englische. Nach seinem ersten Besuch am Millerntor (3:0 gegen Hertha II) erhielt er den Rat „Gewöhn‘ dich bloß nicht dran, das läuft hier normalerweise nicht so!“. Zwei Aufstiege und einen Abstieg später ergatterte er ein Saisonpaket für die Gegengerade und verpasst nur selten ein Heimspiel.
  • Johnny (Monatssendung) Das biertrinkende modische Gewissen der Monatssendung. Gegengeradensteher. Fand Fußball ganz lange langweilig (ein bisschen auch immer noch). Sein Bruder nahm ihn das erste Mal mit zum Millerntor. Gegner vergessen, Gesänge nicht. Für ihn ist das drumherum mindestens so wichtig wie das GEschehen auf dem Platz. Hat mehr Ahnung von Musik als Tim. // Vielleicht ist das gelogen. Beruflich macht Johnny ganz viel mit Technik, Innovation und Ideen. Privat macht er Bier und 3D-Drucke.
  • Justus (Monatssendung) Geht seit 1991 zum FC St Pauli, das verloren gegangene 3. Spiel in der Relegation gegen die Stuttgarter Kickers war der Beginn seines St Pauli – Fandaseins. Nach Jahren im Exil zog er 2008 nach Hamburg und begann im Fanladen St Pauli zu arbeiten. Seit Beginn an ist er beim MillernTon dabei, also seit 1910.
  • Maik (Monatssendung, Blog) Bloggt schon seit gefühlten Ewigkeiten über den FCSP. Als es noch gar nicht „bloggen“ hieß tat er dies für „Die feuchten Biber“ und danach dann für den ÜBERSTEIGER. Nun hat er zusätzlich das Podcasten entdeckt und versucht mal mit mehr und oft mit weniger Erfolg, den Gesprächen in der Monatssendung sowas wie eine Struktur zu geben. Ansonsten pfeift er sich durch die Verbandsliga Schleswig-Holstein, schaut seinem Sohn beim Fußball zu und sammelt nebenbei den ein oder anderen Stadionpunkt.
  • Michael (VdS/NdS) Stehender Sitzplatzinhaber auf der Gegengerade in Block 2 – seit 1989 Dauerkarteninhaber mit gut 500 FCSP-Spielen auf der Uhr. Godfather of VdS/NdS, der das Format auch organisatorisch zusammenhält. Kümmert sich hinter den Kulissen um Social Media, insbesondere um Instagram, weil er der einzige ist, der das versteht.
  • Sebastian (Monatssendung, IT-Dingsbums) Ist von Beginn an beim MillernTon dabei und hat über die Jahre irgendwie die Position hinter den Reglern (ohne dabei den Mund zu halten) und im Backend zugelost bekommen. Beruflich macht er was mit Werbung und Zahlen, steht im Stadion auf der Gegengeraden gerne in pöbelnder Gesellschaft.
  • Tim (Monatssendung, Blog) Irgendwo in den riesigen Räumen zwischen Gunesch, Morena und Eger und nach dem 1.910sten flachen Eckball verlor Tim sein Herz an Taktik und Statistik. Wo vorher cholerisch geflucht wurde, suchte er nun Ausflüchte für schlechtes Stellungsspiel und Wahrscheinlichkeiten schlechter Ballannahmen. Das tat er schon bei den Nice Guys Sankt Pauli und später beim ÜBERSTEIGER. Neben dem MillernTon überschlägt sich seine Stimme beim AFM-Radio sobald der FCSP kontrolliert die Mittellinie überquert.
  • Toby (VdS/NdS) Ist mit seiner ganzen Familie seit Ende der 90er Jahre FC St. Pauli-Fan, zwischendurch mit Saison- und jetzt Dauerkarten im Stadion auf der Gegengeraden. Sein Patenkind ist auch dort, und Trikotpate von Matze Hain ist er auch. Familiärer Typ! Im MillernTon ist er bei den VdS/NdS Gesprächen dabei und freut sich, dadurch öfter mal Impulse zu Auswärtsfahrten zu bekommen, hat aber noch nie einen Auswärtssieg miterlebt. Podcasting betreibt er intensiv seit 2010, mit dem Einschlafen Podcast sorgt er für Entspannung und Ruhe. Mehr von ihm findet ihr hier.
  • Yannick (VdS/NdS) Kam über den „Umweg“ der Punk- und Hardcore-Szene zum FCSP. Geboren im Bergischen Land lebte er zunächst in Berlin und machte dort eine Ausbildung zum Erzieher. Hier fand ihn dann auch der FC St.Pauli. Seit 6 Jahren Vereinsmitglied (AFM), erste Gehversuche im Podcast Ende 2014. Seit Mai 2017 lebt er in Hamburg und hat seitdem (fast) kein Heimspiel verpasst. Neben den Profis unterstützt er auch die Frauen-Teams des FCSP und ist Mitglied im Fanclub „Die üblichen Verdächtigen“, einem von zwei Fanclubs der 1.Frauen des FC St.Pauli.

Wenn Dir gefällt was wir hier tun, findest Du hier die Infos dazu, ob und wenn ja wie Du uns unterstützen kannst.